Zhenpeng Qin

Zhenpeng Qin

[email protected]
Phone: 972-883-4440
Mail Box: ECW 31
Office: BSB 13.826
800 West Campbell Rd.
Richardson, TX 75080-3021

Personal Website

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering


Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, University of Minnesota, 2014

M.S., Mechanical Engineering, The University of Akron, 2009

B.S., Energy and Power Engineering, Xi’an Jiaotong University, 2007

Research Interests

Biotransport, Neuro Nanotechnology, Point-of-Care Diagnostics.

Five Most Recent Journal Publications, Book Chapters, and Books

  • Godakhindi, V.S. *, Kang, P. *, Serre, M. *, Revuru, N.A., Roner, M., Kahn, J., Randrianalisoa, J. and Qin Z. Tuning the Gold Nanoparticle Colorimetric Assay by Nanoparticle Size, Concentration, and Size Combinations. ACS Sensors. 2017 (* equal contribution)
  • Randrianalisoa, J., Li, X., Serre, M. and Qin Z., Understanding the Collective Optical Properties of Complex Plasmonic Vesicles. Advanced Optical Materials. 1700403. (2017)
  • Kang, P., Chen., Z, Nielsen, S.O., Hoyt, K., D’Arcy, S., Gassensmith, J. and Qin Z., Molecular Hyperthermia: Spatiotemporal Protein Unfolding and Inactivation by Nanosecond Plasmonic Heating. Small. 1700841. (2017)
  • Kanav, K., Wang, Y., Hagedorn, M., Qin, Z. & Bischof, J.C., Gold Nanorod Induced Warming of Embryos from the Cryogenic State Enhances Viability, ACS Nano. 11 (8), 7869–7878 (2017)
  • Li, X., Che, Z., Mazhar, K., Price, T. and Qin Z. Ultrafast Near-Infrared Light-triggered Intracellular Uncaging to Probe Cell Signaling. Advanced Functional Materials. 27 (11), 1605778 (2017)

Major Honors and Awards

  • Finalist, ASME NanoEngineering for Medicine and Biology (NEMB) Doctoral Poster Competition (2014)
  • Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship, University of Minnesota (2013)
  • Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowship, University of Minnesota (2012)
  • Gates Foundation Travel Award, American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (2012)
  • 2nd Place in Doctoral Student Paper Competition, ASME Summer Bioengineering Conference (2012)
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering Fellowship, University of Minnesota (2009)
  • Excellent Student Award by Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (2006)
  • Baosteel Education Foundation Fellowship (2005)
  • China General Guangdong Nuclear Power Group Fellowship (2004)
  • University Siyuan Fellowship(2004)
  • National Scholarship of China (2003)