Skip to main content - access key m.
Skip to main navigation - access key n.

Fatemeh Hassanippour

E-mail: [email protected]
Phone: 972-883-2914
Office: ECSN 2.524
800 West Campbell Rd
Mailstop: EC-38
Richardson, TX 75080-3021








Fatemeh Hassanipour

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

PhD, Mechanical Engineering, Southern Methodist University, 2009

Research Interests
Heat transfer and Fluid mechanics with applications in energy conservation, storage, and management, electronic cooling, health and bioengineering (modeling and simulation of biomechanical systems).

Five Most Recent Journal Publications, Book Chapters, and Books

  • M. Shukla and F. Hassanipour, "Heat Transfer in Porous Media with Slurry of Phase Change Material," International Journal of Engineering, Volume(6) Issue(1), 2011.
  • F. Hassanipour and J. Lage, “Preliminary Experimental Study of a Bio-Inspired Phase-Change Particle Capillary Heat Exchanger,” International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer, Volume 53, 2010, pp 3300-3307.
  • F. Hassanipour and J. Lage, “Numerical Simulation of Capillary Convection with Encapsulated Phase Change Material,” Journal of Numerical Heat Transfer, PART A: Applications Volume 55, Issue 10, 2009,
    pp 893-905.
  • F. Hassanipour and J. Lage, “New Bio-Inspired, Multiphase Forced Convection Cooling by ABS Plastic or Encapsulated Paraffin Beads,” ASME Journal of Heat Transfer, Volume 132, Issue 7, 2010.
  • F. Hassanipour and J. Lage, “The Effect of a Porous Medium on the Flow of a Liquid Vortex,” International Journal of Engineering, Volume 3, Issue 6, 2009.

Major Honors and Awards

  • NSF CAREER award, 2015
  • Faculty Diversity Award, UTDallas, 2011
  • Young Engineer of the Year, ASME North Texas Section, 2010
  • Oak Ridge Associated Universities Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Award, 2010
  • ASHRAE Peanut Vinther Award, 2005
  • Best Research Award, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, Southern Methodist University, 2008
  • ASME North Texas Section Student Award, 2008
  • Best Graduate Student Award, Dept. Mechanical Engineering, Southern Methodist University, 2008
  • GAANN Fellowship, 2008