Skip to main content - access key m.
Skip to main navigation - access key n.









Fifth International Indentation Workshop (IIW5)
November 1-5, 2015
Texas Instruments Auditorium
The University of Texas at Dallas, United States of America

Indentation, in particular, instrumented nanoindentation, has become an elegant and effective technique for probing materials behavior at nanoscales and up. The Fifth International Indentation Workshop (IIW5) will provide a forum for scientists and engineers working on indentation at different scales to report their new findings and exchange ideas. It will also give an opportunity for equipment manufacturers to showcase their most advanced equipment for scientific discovery.

A collection of papers documenting original contributions will be published in a Special Issue – Recent Advances in Nanoindentation in Experimental Mechanics

Plenary Speakers

Dr. George M. Pharr
The University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN
Speaker Details
Dr. Warren C. Oliver
Nanomechanics, Inc.
Knoxville, TN
Speaker Details
Dr. Alan Needleman
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX
Speaker Details
Dr. Dongil Kwon
Seoul National University
South Korea
Speaker Details
Dr. Peter Hosemann
University of California-Berkeley
Nuclear Engineering, USA
Speaker Details


Workshop Organizers:

Hongbing Lu
Professor and Louis A. Beecherl Jr. Chair
Mechanical Engineering
The University of Texas at Dallas
[email protected]

Reza Mirshams
Engineering Technology & Mechanical Engineering
University of North Texas
[email protected]

International Advisory Committee:

Jorge Alcalá, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (Spain)
Jodie Bradby, Australian National University (Australia)
Munawar Chaudhri, University of Cambridge (UK)
Yang-Tse Cheng, University of Kentucky (USA)
Nuwong Chollacoop, National Metal and Materials Technology Center (Thailand)
Sergey Dub, Institute for Superhard Materials (Ukraine)
Michael Griepentrog, Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing (Germany)
Jenny Hay, Nanomechanics Inc. (USA)
Jae-il Jang, Hanyang University (Korea)
Nigel Jennett, University of Coventry (UK)
Oliver Kraft, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany)
Dongil Kwon, Seoul National University (Korea)
Frantisek Lofaj, Institute of Materials Research of SAS (Slovakia)
Jean-Luc Loubet, Ecole Centrale de Lyon (France)
Christian Motz, Austrian Academy of Sciences (Austria)
Hongbing Lu, The University of Texas at Dallas (USA)
Alfonso Ngan, University of Hong Kong (China)
Takahito Ohmura, National Institute for Material Science (Japan)
Upadrasta Ramamurty, Indian Institute of Science (India)
Steve Rapp, RGS Scientific / Micro Materials
Roberto Souze, University of Sao Paulo (Brazil)
Alexey Useinov, Technological Institute for Superhard & Novel Carbon Materials (Russia)
Chehung Wei, Tatung University (Taiwan)